• Author: admin
  • Date: 07-13-2018, 11:44
  • Views: 287
The Feeling of What Happens - Antonio Damasio

The publication of this book is an event in the making. All over the world scientists, psychologists, and philosophers are waiting to read Antonio Damasio's new theory of the nature of consciousness and the construction of the self. A renowned and revered scientist and clinician, Damasio has spent decades following
  • Author: admin
  • Date: 07-13-2018, 10:11
  • Views: 199
Borrowed Time - Paul Monette

The first personal documentary about AIDS to be published, "Borrowed Time" remains as vividly detailed as the best novel and as lucidly observed as the fiercest journalism. It is a cry from the heart against AIDS as it was in the early stages of the plague and against the intolerance that surrounded it. In equal
  • Author: admin
  • Date: 07-13-2018, 08:50
  • Views: 273
Letters to a Young Doctor - Richard Selzer

Autobiographical reflections and parables from the noted surgeon and author--in turn grimly humorous, painful, and inspirational--articulate the lessons to be learned during an internship in surgery.
  • Author: admin
  • Date: 07-13-2018, 08:00
  • Views: 169
Acid Test - Tom Shroder

"A book that should start a long-overdue national conversation." --Dave Barry With the F.D.A. agreeing to new trials to test MDMA (better known as Ecstasy) as a treatment for PTSD--which, if approved, could be available as a drug by 2021--Acid Test is leading the charge in an evolving conversation about psychedelic
  • Author: admin
  • Date: 07-13-2018, 06:03
  • Views: 307
Last Night In The Or - Bud Shaw

For readers of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Paul A. Ruggieri's Confessions of a Surgeon, and Atul Gawande's Better, a pioneering surgeon shares memories from a life in one of surgery's most demanding fields The 1980s marked a revolution in the field of organ transplants, and Bud Shaw, M.D., who studied under Tom Starzl
  • Author: admin
  • Date: 07-13-2018, 04:53
  • Views: 291
Aussie Midwives - Fiona Mcarthur

'Being present as the midwife at a baby's birth is one of life's glorious adventures.' Nineteen Australian midwives share their incredible stories with passionate midwife and bestselling author Fiona McArthur. Midwives play a vital role in supporting women through some of the most challenging and rewarding moments of
  • Author: admin
  • Date: 07-13-2018, 03:48
  • Views: 351
Bioethics - Marianne Talbot

Providing readers with the confidence needed to debate key issues in bioethics, this introductory text clearly explains bioethical theories and their philosophical foundations. Over 250 activities introduce topics for personal reflection, and discussion points encourage students to think for themselves and build their
  • Author: admin
  • Date: 07-13-2018, 02:46
  • Views: 272
Histology at a Glance - Michelle Peckham

This brand new title provides a highly illustrated and unambiguous introduction to the science, structure and function of cells, their related pathology, and in particular, helps readers master the basic principles of recognizing features of histological sections. Histology at a Glance: * Presents the perfect
  • Author: admin
  • Date: 07-13-2018, 00:48
  • Views: 213
Women to the Front - Heather Sheard, Ruth Lee

At the outbreak of World War I, 129 women were registered as medical practitioners in Australia, and many of them were eager to contribute their skills and expertise to the war effort. For the military establishment, however, the notion of women doctors serving on the battlefield was unthinkable. Undaunted, at least
  • Author: admin
  • Date: 07-13-2018, 00:01
  • Views: 345
Journey of a Thousand Storms: A Refugee's story - Kooshyar Karimi

Kooshyar Karimi had two careers in Iran, one as a doctor and one as an award-winning translator. Until he was kidnapped by the Intelligence Service. Behind his professional success, Kooshyar was a rebel on several fronts. Marginalised since boyhood as a Jew in a fundamentalist Islamic state, he was a member of a